Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary – a Brisbane Icon

I think just about every kid who grew up in Brisbane has “that” koala photo.

Scan_20170626

I’m not sure which one of us was less impressed.

So, on a recent visit to our grand babies, I took them and our daughter to Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary.

I have to admit that, because of its age and the fact that it hasn’t really changed much from the original concept, I was expecting it to be a bit tired and run down.

I couldn’t have been more wrong.

Everything was clean and well cared for, the facilities were up-to-date, the café food was well priced and freshly cooked. I was impressed to find free mobile phone charging, wifi throughout the park and a charging station for electric cars.

And, most importantly, the animals were healthy and happy.

The “flat friend” in some of the photos was a project for a friend in America. And you’ll also see Cassie the Cassowary who travels with us.

Not every kid would have had the snake photo. A primary school friend and I did, though. So I did my best to replicate that one too, but without strangling the poor snake this time.

Would you dare?

 

7 thoughts on “Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary – a Brisbane Icon

    • You’re sure not alone feeling that way about the snake. I seem to be the only person I know who does this. There was no one else interested that day and I had to wait quite some time for them to bring the snake out.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Wow. I didn’t expect the before and after snake photo. I was busy smiling at all the fuzzy creatures. That was a cleaver idea to repeat the snake pose. Good thinking.

    Like

Thanks for travelling with us. We'd love to hear what you think.